top of page

3 Decades of Village Trekking & Many Pots of Rice - Steven Livingston


I started writing this blog from my phone while sitting on a flight a few days ago. I thought it was saved in my draft only to realize it wasn't. It's so surreal that I re-write this on the heels of losing a loved one in my life, someone who was a brother to me. I think it goes with the theme of "fresh perspective".

The not-a-definition of life:

I've come to realize that life is a journey. I know it's cliche, we have so many titles for defining life and every time someone writes about anything life related they automatically think they can define it. I'm actually saying the opposite, we cannot define it...Well, I can't. The only thing I know is that if I had to give an elevator speech of my time on earth it would be described as "walking from village to village, taking lessons from each, meeting new people on the way which contributed to me growing as an individual". Why is this thought important to anyone? I'll tell you why it's important to me.

My 3 decades in a nutshell:

Today I turn 30, that means 3 decades of trekking through villages, meeting new people and growing as an individual. I feel like we focus so much on "what I am today, who I am today" that we forget "why I am today". From my perspective, the time spent in each village molds us, it grows us. We are the representation of all things learnt along the journey. Today as I turn 30, I reflect not on material collections, life achievements or manly possessions as those things come and go. I instead reflect on the value of the special people I have met along the way and their contribution & impact to my life. I call this contribution "a share of their pot of rice". I'm no perfect adventurer. I've lost touch , I've allowed for resentment, I've even hurt along the way. Today I want it to be known that I've appreciated every bit of that pot of rice. My 30 years on earth isn't a celebration of me, it's a celebration of your impact, contribution and value to me. All egos through the door, I'm learning to be humble enough to say "thank you".

This journey is so tricky, sometimes there are paths taken that pulls you away from a village that was so dear to your heart. It's easy for that village to feel like you've moved to another place where love is no longer. I take the time today to say that's not so... for me at that. The love in my heart for every pot of rice shared with me grows with time and distance.

So today, my 30th is dedicated to all the "pots of rice" where kindness allowed for it to be shared with me. That act of kindness will live with me today, tomorrow and forever. No matter where I am, your spirit, your love, your kindness will be with me.

Thanks for taking a bet on me, thanks for sharing your love with me, thanks for being a brother, for being a friend, for being a cousin, for being a mentor, for being a father, a mother, an uncle, an aunt. Thanks, for your share of your pot of rice over the past 30 years.

Sincere Love always,

Steven


bottom of page